Powered by Skatefurther.com

Coldest skate ever…

I’ve been a little bit behind with updating this blog but lots of stuff has been going on outside of longboarding and weather hasn’t been up to much either. Another thing is that one of my New Year’s resolutions was to learn to ski, and after my third day last weekend I can safely say that I’ve given it a good go! I was managing red runs without berating those that led me down them or scaring myself too much…

At the start of the month, I did manage a good skate with my good friend Tim Pritchard. About the time of his visit this kind of thing wasn’t an uncommon sight in Geneva which is quite close by:

 However, although the week previous to his visit the temperature hadn’t gone above the -15°C, the weekend he was here was a cosy -10°C. Needless to say that with clear skys there was no way we weren’t going to skate. It is just what we do when we get together. It was the coldest skate ever…

In the past, I’ve skated in cold conditions especially when I was in Paris.

It’s all good once you get going and it was no different this time. Tim and I took the lakeside path, him on the G|Bomb and me on the Subsonic GT. Through the icy fields we went…

It was fun to skate and pump around the ice patches:

The  G|Bomb, good at pumping and pushing, not so good as a snow plough:

Great times…

… with some super-smooth stretches:

I got chased by dogs:

One things about dogs. It really annoys me when they decide to chase me when I’m riding a bike or longboard. I heard that one thing you can do is make noise at them to intimidate them… I tried, looked stupid infront of about 10 people and failed to get them to go away. After a good deal of barking once I stopped they got bored and went away by their own accord.

In the end, we managed around 30km in some really cold conditions including wind that never became a tail-wind, regardless of the direction we took.

A nice pic of a nice board in some weak Winter sun:

Dreaming of a warm chin-massage:

Tim, showing off his head-wear:

We finished off at the crazy sculture at Ouchy:

For those of you who are interested in what we gorged ourselves on post-skate, here is the awesome-ness that sorted us right out. Dumplings for the win!

3 responses

  1. Matthbro

    Great report.
    30km and no tailwind, you guys are just hardcore!
    I didn’t get out at all this winter (but hey, there’s no lake here with good quiet bike paths).
    I foolishly assumed that you,as a swiss guy, you were born skiing. Man, you keep collecting more and more skills. Nice!

    February 29, 2012 at 17:30

  2. Good stuff! Beautiful conditions :-)

    March 1, 2012 at 01:46

  3. I appreciate the “cosy – 10°C” from my tropical hideout.
    Keep going further !

    March 1, 2012 at 02:56

Leave a Reply

