Powered by Skatefurther.com

Descent2

Feels like things have slowed down in this last week, but despite the feeling there is still some stuff to write about. Last Saturday I attended my very first longboarding event in Lausanne: Descent2. As far as I can make out, it was co-organised by Lausannedescent.ch and La Fièvre/Skatepark HS36 and was very good afternoon out. Being my first DH event, I didn’t know really what to expect but it was really chilled and everyone I chatted to was really friendly.

The event was held at the Vallée de la Jeunesse, which is a curving road, closed to traffic which winds it’s way down to lake-level. It is the perfect event to go to if you want to try your hand at some of the tamer downhill runs that Lausanne has to offer. More experienced riders can also practice in an environment which is free from traffic or uncertain road surfaces and ‘have at it’…

Just for the record, that’s not me…I was on my G|Bomb and mainly there to get a flavour of what was going down. I did get to meet some lovely people including long-time skater and all-round nice guy Stephane Conus. Stéphane had been on hand with some really good advice when I was looking at moving to Lausanne. Incidently, a big thanks goes out to Bevil’ from Sakaroule for putting me in touch with him. It was great to cruise the lake route with him and put in a few ‘k’.

Along with the much needed BBQ stand a few longboarding brands were showing off their wares. Some were well known (Sector9 with the great ‘Push don’t Pollute’ t-shirts) but others brands less well known. Two Swiss makes represented; LGS Skateboards which showed some awesome carpentry skills and F-9.81 with some carbon-foamcore-concave-dope-ness. I was representing PSD which raised quite a few eyebrows:

As well as longboarders, there were quite a few people on luges, lots of inliners and something new to me drift-trikes - it is as crazy as it sounds. Big up goes out to some of the organisers I met: Nicolas Gachoud and Natan Lakonishok.

Spoiler alert, here are some upcoming things:
This, this and this..;-)

One response

  1. Bevilacqua

    I took a glance at the upcoming “this this & that”: gasp ! looks cool !

    September 8, 2011 at 18:40

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.