Powered by Skatefurther.com

Busy times

This week marked the start of my training for the Goodwood Roller Marathon which is taking place on the 14th August.  Last year I was skating home from work in order to get some training in, this time round I’m mixing things up.

Last Saturday I decided to stretch my legs a little and longboarded from Lausanne, the town I live in, to…well, about as far I could get in roughly 1.5 hours.  I got about 22km (14 miles) away following the lake:

The trouble was that my board the LBL Pusher which I have had for a good few years now is finally showing it’s age and is on it’s last legs. There is a known weak spot in the board that cracks over time. I hadn’t worked out until my last run what was causing it to split but now I know that it is caused by going over big cracks in the road and up kurbs, etc. On Saturday over a particular rough patch (drainage channels, yep) I actually heard it splinter…yeesh.

Anyway, the show must go on – based on other people’s recommendation that the end was nigh, I’ve contacted some companies about getting a replacement deck. Although broken, ti is still useable for the moment, but it is difficult to judge how long it will last. I certainly don’t want to undertake any big trips with it for sure.

My training route during the week is a shorter, more intense one to work on muscle and power development. It’s much shorter (just shy of 4km, 2.5 miles) but encompasses some brutal up-hill:

I managed that route  in 15m38s – it’s something to work on. My aim is to do this route a couple of times a week at least, getting faster each time.

On a gear point of view, there has been some exciting talk about Vicetrux on the Skatefurther forum – I hope that these trucks will see the light of day sooner rather than later as the design is awesome. They are also thouroughly tested by Jim Petersson during his trips so they are sure to hold up.

Also, a wonderful package of stoke arrived chez moi this morning from G|Bomb Longboards:

More information to come on this soon…exciting is an understatement!

5 responses

  1. Good news – we are starting the same training
    My usual ride (not daily but 3 to 4 times a week) is 2×2 miles by the sea-side, mostly flat.
    I have tried pushing, but I feel more like pumping these days.

    My set up is a bit unusual, and needs some fine tuning:
    Deck: 80cm Freeboard, rather stiff
    Bennett truks 6.0 , no pads, stock barrel bushings
    70, then 72, eventually 75mm wheels.

    For the time being 72 is my best size for pumping, but I hope things will improve with fitness and practice.

    I’ll check speed and duration next time !

    July 21, 2011 at 20:03

  2. Hey Bevil’

    Have you tried changing the bushings? I think that bushings make the biggest difference in terms of pumping setups…http://pavedwave.myfastforum.org/ftopic716-0-asc-0.php
    => I’m a big fan of the reflex lime combos.

    July 22, 2011 at 09:32

  3. Pingback: In full flow… « Here & there – Ici & là

  4. Pingback: New ride – G|Bomb « Here & there – Ici & là

  5. Pingback: Winter outing: Vevey and quite a bit past Montreux… « Here & there – Ici & là

Leave a Reply

