Powered by Skatefurther.com

Pack it up, pack it in, let me begin…

Hopefully there aren’t many who won’t recognise the lyrical genius of Everlast in the opening lines of Jump Around by House of Pain. As well as continuing the Old School theme that this blog has taken on recently, the title is pretty in keeping with what has been going on, mainly packing!

Before I get to that, there is some good news! I’m cured of the horrible Syndrome Rotulière, more commonly known as Runner’s knee that has stopped me longboarding since November. “How are you cured?” I hear you say. Easy, with the help of orthopaedic insoles. They are the don dadda…in celebration, Alex and I went for a skate:

You can read/watch more about our outing and listen to the many amazing jokes and more at Alex’s very informative blog. In the end we crossed Paris from La Motte-Picquet – Grenelle to Porte de Vincennes, around 10km. It felt so good to get back on a board even though it was clear that my stamina really needs to be improved now.

Back to the packing, last Saturday I packed up my boards and other longboarding equipment to get everything ready for the move. After about an hour of careful packing I managed to get everything in to my Decent Hardware Park Bag:

Three boards, a helmet, toolbox, four sets of trucks, umpteen sets of wheels, two banners – you can fit in some serious gear into these bad boys!

Then came many firsts, first time driving a van, first time driving in Paris and first time negotiating the Parisian traffic. In the end it was all good…

So from this Tuesday I’ll be officially in Lausanne…all of our stuff is now there and this is certainly my last post from Paris for a little while.

Having said that though, here is a date for your diaries…the weekend of the 21st and 22nd May. If all goes well this will be the date of the 1st French Ultraskate. It will take place on the circuit which goes around the Hippodrôme de Longchamps in South-West Paris. Tim and I visited the site and did a few laps during our 62km LDP skate.

The circuit is exactly 3.529 km long and is looking like a pretty good location for an Ultraskate. Confirmed participants at the moment are myself, Romain Bessière (who will be looking to beat Paul Kent’s record), Alex Bangnoi and there are rumours and some others might be joining from further afield.

The distance will be measured either by GPS for those who have them or by counting the number of laps.

As well as achieve personal distance aims, another aim of the event is to collect money for charity. More information will be given as things get sorted out. You can also follow progress on the Ultraskate thread on Pavedwave.

It is possible that this blog will remain rather silent whilst I get the internet sorted in Switzerland – apologies in advance. However, with my knee fixed and once I’m settled in Switzerland I’ll be raring to go and make the most of the hills and wonderful cyclepaths. I wanted to thank all those who have supported and read Here&La during the past year or so – I’ll look forward to sharing my Swiss adventures with you soon.

4 responses

  1. $eb

    Hi Chris,
    I’m very interested for this Ultraskate, but in Roller :)

    $eb

    February 26, 2011 at 08:58

  2. Bevilacqua

    Bon voyage !

    February 28, 2011 at 21:02

  3. Bevilacqua

    “Pack it up …”
    You’re gonna be “the leader of the pack”.

    March 3, 2011 at 19:31

  4. alex

    bonjour tu a une board gbomb?

    March 5, 2011 at 12:44

Leave a Reply

