Powered by Skatefurther.com

Protect that board!

Are  you tired of trying to find an easy way to protect the tail/nose of your board? Options to proctect a beloved board from curb impact can be a source of stress (messing with glues, rubber strips, etc) or can end up being expensive or unsightly. I’ve often contemplated the Bombsquad noseguards but have always been a little put off by the price. Help is now at hand though!

One of the little finds that has rocked my world recently is a nifty little product called SUGRU.

Sugru is like modeling clay when you take it from its pack. Once it’s exposed to air, it cures to a tough flexible silicone overnight using the moisture in the air. Working time = 30 mins. Cure time = 24hrs (3-5 mm deep).

I found out about this nifty little product thanks to BlackBeast  on the Riderz forum and decided to give it a go for myself!

Using SUGRU
I found that it was rather sticky when coming out of the packet, but after a couple of minutes I was able to shape the putty into a sausage which would be able to cover the nose/tail of my board.

I then wrapped the end of my finger in cling-film in order to not leave any fingerprints and thus acheive a smoother finish. It was a really simple process and took under 10 mins to apply to both the nose and tail. One 5g packet is enough to protect one end of a board.

The end result
After 24 hours of curing I achieved a neat and smooth finish with the product forming a strong bond to the board. I bounced it against the floor and felt the blows being softened by the nice layer of silicone goodness…it stayed intact too. All this is great news as I’d grown tired of having to endlessly re-glue the bits of rubber I previously use to
protect my boards. Thank you SUGRU!

If anyone is interested, it is available cheaply via the website here.

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Nose Guard - Silverfish Longboarding - The Longboard Skateboarding Community

  2. Pingback: Shoe Goo as Nose Gaurds? - Silverfish Longboarding - The Longboard Skateboarding Community

  3. Pingback: nose guards for vendetta

  4. Pingback: Kicktail noseguard

  5. Pingback: Show Me Your Rayne Vandal Setup - Page 2

Leave a Reply

