Powered by Skatefurther.com

Hello – goodbye

It is said that all good things come to an end and it is certainly the case with my much loved Longboard Larry Pusher V1. I wrote  back in July about what was to be the board’s last trip.

There is a known weak spot in the board that cracks over time. I hadn’t worked out until my last run what was causing it to split but now I know that it is caused by going over big cracks in the road and up kurbs, etc. On Saturday over a particular rough patch (drainage channels, yep) I actually heard it splinter…yeesh.

Yesterday, I received a huge parcel in the post with the replacement board. After much umming and arring about what to go for I chose to go with a Subsonic GT board. This is the board that was ridden by Ben Colchester during the trip Skating South. Ben was a long time fan of the Subsonic Raven but had the chance to slightly tweak the design…what resulted was the GT.

I was considering a board by Pulse Longboards, such as the ones used Skateventure but decided against it for the simple reason that there wasn’t much information on the board and that it was in an early stage of development. I also liked the idea of the Rock The Drop model by B2 Longboards but wanted something that looked different to the Longboard Larry Pusher V1 (i.e. not wooden-looking).

In the end, having seen and ridden some of Scott’s (Subsonic founder) boards (Tim Pritchard’s Pulse, my G|Bomb) I knew that I could order with no doubt in my mind. Here is what was agreed upon after exchanging a few messages with him:

Board model: GT
Construction: your usual laminates for this board (I’m around 75kg)
Top layer: Black tri-ax fibreglass or carbon
Bottom layer: Silver Texalium
Ride height: around 70mm – 75mm with 85mm wheels
Finish: as weather-proof as possible with resin coated edges
Cut-out ends: Open
Ride: Slight give for shock absorbing purposes

Unboxing the package, I was not disappointed. You can tell by the wrapping the board came in that a lot of love goes into making them.

The quality of the materials  is really outstanding…

Here is a shot of the top of the deck:

And the concave of the deck which feels very mellow and progressive:

The big advantages of this board as I see them (without having ridden it) are the following:
- It is not taped at the back, meaning that my back foot should never get numb as has been the case during day trips and ultraskates
- By it’s construction, it is totally weather-proof. I had to re-varnish my LBL after it’s first trip in the rain.
- It has a more aggressive drop, meaning that more of the platform is flat, making the feel more stable.

Last night I took apart the LBL and thought about the many trips we have done together. Although broken, I’m not sure I can get rid of it just yet – it feels like part of the family.  Going on the trips I have written about, I’ve done more than 1200km (745 miles) on it but I think that the real total is much more, possibly around the 2000 km mark.

I still recall writing this about it when I first received it back in March 2009 :

Sleek, low but still manoeuvrable this board does exactly what it says on the tin and certainly helps eat up those km! I wrote a longer review here. Although it is now showing some abuse, it is still going strong and is my go-to board for anything other than a ride to the shops…we’ll see how far it takes me!

Now we know how far it got!

Retired old lady with battle-scars on the left…young gun ready to rock on the right (check out my alliteration!)…

Here it is built up from above:

And from below:

Tonight it is time for this

7 responses

  1. What a Silver Board !
    I’ve ordered my Rock from B2 ! Yeah !

    September 16, 2011 at 22:23

    • Hey! Phildar! Make sure you review the Rock from B2…I was going to order one but then got thinking GT…

      September 18, 2011 at 18:30

  2. Wow….veeeeery nice.

    I suppose it it too late now to ask you to weigh the deck (deck only)?

    Cheers,
    Rob

    September 17, 2011 at 01:40

    • 2.2kg deck only…I guess you could ask for it foamcore though although you would loose out on the lovely flex. You thinking future board options? How you getting on with the Paramount?

      September 18, 2011 at 18:29

  3. No, not looking at other boards, just curious. Thanks for the effort in weighing it.

    The Paramount is as great as usual. Awesome for around town. Not sure I would take it on a multi-day trip, simply due to its skittery-ness at high speeds.

    September 19, 2011 at 01:29

  4. Bevilacqua

    My LDP “special” weights less than 1.3 kg …
    Your Pulse looks awfully good ! I was already found of the Raven ‘…’tis the wind, and nothing more’ – but this one is a step ahead.
    Wide enuff for my big feet, long enuff for a large stance … really cool – worth giving a try when I make it to Lausanne !
    New horse for new adventures !

    September 19, 2011 at 19:51

  5. This….is cool.

    October 16, 2011 at 02:15

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.